Thread: Equivalent to a Hotstart file?

Equivalent to a Hotstart file?

I am new to InfoWorks CS and I was simply wondering if there is an equivalent to EPA SWMM's Hotstart file.

Innovyze Employee

Hello William,
    The equivalent of a SWMM 5 Hotstart file in IWCS or ICM is the option to save the final or timed state as the initial state for subsequent runs. The IWCS solution process actually includes an initialisation process automatically in its solution.

State saving Select an option for saving network state to be used as the initial state for subsequent runs:

• Do not save state - do not save state information
    • Save state at end of simulation - preserve the state of the network at the end of the simulation for use in a subsequent run
    • Save state at time-date: - preserve the state of the network at the time-date specified for use in a subsequent run. (This option can not be used when using relative times.)
      Note that the state of the network will be saved at the first run timestep at or before the time specified. (A warning message will be output to the results log if the save state time does not coincide with the run timestep.)

Regards,
      Bob Dickinson

COM Interface

I am searching but having trouble finding this. Is it possible to do this from the InfoWorks COM interface?

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Dickinson View Post
    Hello William,
    The equivalent of a SWMM 5 Hotstart file in IWCS or ICM is the option to save the final or timed state as the initial state for subsequent runs. The IWCS solution process actually includes an initialisation process automatically in its solution.

State saving Select an option for saving network state to be used as the initial state for subsequent runs:

• Do not save state - do not save state information
    • Save state at end of simulation - preserve the state of the network at the end of the simulation for use in a subsequent run