PDA

View Full Version : Missing Valve Diameters in Infoworks WS



Sudeep Jolly
March 1, 2017, 06:45 PM
Hi There,
I am presently working on a network that has round about 300 missing diameters for valves. I have tried to populate the missing diameters by creating an Inference group and in the option LINK: Diameters(Linear) I have checked the option for valves. However even after applying the above inference rule, I cannot get my missing diameters for valves. Is there any way I can get the missing diameters for the valves.
Regards,
Sudeep

Patrick Moore
March 6, 2017, 01:37 PM
Sudeep,

I have forwarded your question to some of our support staff who are more familiar with our Workgroup products like InfoWorks WS to see if they had any suggestions. If they don't reply here directly, I will see if we can find a good recommendation of what might help you resolve your current issue.

Patrick Moore

Patrick Moore
March 6, 2017, 03:55 PM
Sudeep, it sounds like our support team had someone contact you directly with a recommended solution to your issue and a recommended SQL script to do what you were looking for. Let us know if you need anything else.

Ann Pugh
March 7, 2017, 02:19 PM
For the information of the wider community there are two options in InfoWorks WS/InfoWorks WS Pro software to facilitate this. For inference to be carried out at a link, the Match Attributes criteria must be met at that link.


Values of upstream and downstream Links

When inferring values for a particular link, InfoWorks searches upstream and downstream
from the link through nodes connected to exactly two links. The search will stop at:
> The first link that has a value for the parameter being inferred
> The extents of the model
> Nodes connected to more than two links
> A link that does not satisfy the Object Types criteria



Values of surrounding Links

When inferring values for a particular link, InfoWorks searches outwards from
the link through connected links. The search will stop at:
> A link that has a value for the parameter being inferred
> The extents of the model
> A link that does not satisfy the Object Types criteria.

There is still an issue when there are >2 connections at a junction - so an option would be an SQL query to average all connected links. I'll post an example below

Ann Pugh
March 7, 2017, 02:29 PM
This query uses variables to sum up all upstream link diameters and downstream link diameters, and then to divide that by the count of upstream and downstream links - it will not trace through the network, so if there are missing diameters then there will be no information for the query to use to create a diameter. The last step is important - setting a flag on the data so others know where this diameter has come from.

SET $sumd = sum(us_links.diameter) + sum(ds_links.diameter);
SET $countd = count(us_links.diameter) +count(ds_links.diameter);
SET diameter = $sumd/$countd;
SET diameter_flag = "IZ"