PDA

View Full Version : Project database location



mknighton
September 6, 2016, 03:37 PM
When I create a new project database, I'm not given an option for where to store the file. The default location is: "C:\ProgramData\MWH Soft\Temp\..."
I would like to store this on a network drive, along with the rest of the files associated with my project. Is there a way to change the location of this file?

I'm using InfoSewer Pro Suite 7.6, Update #4

(When I look under "About InfoSewer" on the Project tab, that same C:\ pathway is listed as the Virtual DB.)

Patrick Moore
September 6, 2016, 03:52 PM
Morgan,

Thank you for your post.

When you create a new project, the first thing the InfoSewer software will do is create a virtual database folder which is what you are seeing. This is simply so the software can store a temporary virtual database so that you can begin editing it as soon as you create it. The model is actually "not" saved permanently until you hit the save button.

As soon as you hit the "save" button the model prompts you for the location to which to save the model and you can browse and save the model where you like.

Un Addition, you actually are not allowed to "run" the model until you save it as well, as the .OUT folder is saved where the model is saved.

In addition for your reference the latest version of InfoSewer is InfoSewer Pro Suite 7.6, SP1 Update #10. We recommend staying up to date with the latest version to get the best results from the model software as soon you can.

Update links for your convenience from the http://www.innovyze.com/updates/ web page:
To get to InfoSewer Pro Suite 7.6, Service Pack 1: http://www.innovyze.com/updates/download/?loc=3&file=InfoSewerUpdate76100.exe
To get to InfoSewer Pro Suite 7.6, SP1 Update #10: http://www.innovyze.com/updates/download/?loc=3&file=InfoSewerUpdate76110.exe

Patrick Moore

mknighton
September 7, 2016, 08:47 AM
Patrick,
Thanks for your reply. I was in the process of setting up a new model, and got worried when I saw the db location. I understand the role of the virtual DB now.
Best,
Morgan

Patrick Moore
September 7, 2016, 06:23 PM
Morgan,

Glad this could help clarify things! It is very understandable how one could get confused with all of the messages in the message box when it is setting up the virtual DB. We are glad we could help clear up any confusion for you on this issue.

Best to you in all of your modeling activities!

Patrick Moore


Patrick,
Thanks for your reply. I was in the process of setting up a new model, and got worried when I saw the db location. I understand the role of the virtual DB now.
Best,
Morgan