PDA

View Full Version : Unable to Create Pipe Initial Status



SivaB
November 25, 2015, 05:22 PM
Hi, I am getting the following error in InfoWater when I try to create a new link status.

"Unable to insert data record"

The nodes on the both ends are assigned zero demand.

welcome any solution to fix the error.Thanks189

SivaB
November 25, 2015, 10:19 PM
Reindex the pipe ID table fixed the issue.Thanks

Patrick Moore
December 1, 2015, 10:52 AM
Thanks Siva for posting your solution! This really helps others who may run into the same issue!

Running the following commands in this order can often fix a number of issues that arise like this as well:

1. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Database -> Reindex.
2. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Database -> Pack.
3. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Database -> Clean.

Each of the three commands can solve different issues, but the three combined serve to essentially rebuild the primary database structure and clean out unnecessary items which often makes the software run much more smoothly. Combined with creating a new .mxd file and rebuilding the map files is the procedure we recommend to fully rebuild a model database which helps a model run faster and more efficiently. This is especially helpful for models that have been around for years and may experience oddities in the file display or that start to run slowly over time. A complete rebuild completely refreshes the model and makes it run at peak efficiency.

Here is instructions on how to rebuild the complete database for your reference as well:

Procedure to rebuild and InfoWater Database
This procedure will rebuild the IWDB folder. This procedure is helpful
For the instructions below, Model1 is the original model and Model2 is the rebuilt model.

1. Open the original model mxd file. Do not initialize the mxd file.
2. Save the original model mxd file to a new name (Model2).
3. Remove element layers Junction, Tank, Reservoir, Pump, Valve and Pipe.
4. Press the red arrow to initialize Model2 and in the Create New InfoWater Project dialog box, select Same as active map.
5. In the Create New InfoWater Project dialog box, we would recommend in the Project GeoDatabase Type: File GeoDatabase.
6. Press the OK button.
7. Save Model2 and close ArcMap.
8. Copy everything except the Map folder from Model1.IWDB folder into Model2.IWDB folder. (Important: do not copy the Map folder.)
9. Open Model2.mxd and initialize the model.
10. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Update Map from DB -> Force Full Network to redraw the network.
11. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, View -> Reset Display.
12. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Database -> Reindex.
13. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Database -> Pack.
14. Go to the InfoWater dropdown menu, Utilities -> Database -> Clean.
15. Save the model.